Skip to main content
Telangana Logo

Revenue (Prohibition & Excise)

The Telangana State Excise Department in Telangana State Secretariat administers Acts & Rules related to liquor, narcotics, etc., and will make policies pertaining to Prohibition & Excise in the State of Telangana. The Department ensures that Excise Revenue is protected and collected according to the Acts and Rules. This Department is one of the major revenue earning departments. The Department will create awareness among the people of Telangana on the evil effects of consumption of alcoholic products and also Illicit Distillation of Liquor and also encourages for establishment of Drug De-Addiction Centers. The Department will look after the Establishment & Disciplinary matters of all the employees of Prohibition & Excise Department in the State.

Telangana State Beverages Corporation Limited undertakes the functions of purchases, sales and distribution of liquor in the State.

The Telangana State Excise Academy imparts training to the departmental personnel. ​​
Sri Jupally Krishna Rao


The Hon’ble Prohibition & Excise ​​Minister

NameSri Jupally Krishna Rao

Organizations and Contacts

Note: As per the AP Reorganization Act, 2014, certain institutions serve both the States of Telangana and Andhra Pradesh till they are bifurcated. The below listed organizations and institutions should be seen in that light.​

Prl. SecretarySri Syed Ali Murtaza Rizvi, IAS​040-23459943
Commissioner, Prohibition & ExciseDr. Jyoti Buddha Prakash, IAS​040-24603308, Fax: 24601236
DirectorSri N. A. Ajay Rao8712657999
Telangana State Beverages Corportation Ltd.
Chairman040-24743437, 24743438
Managing DirectorDr. Jyoti Buddha Prakash, IAS mdpeshi.tsbcl@gmail.com040-24603308, Fax: 24601236
Commissioner, Prohibition & Excise
CommissionerDr. Jyoti Buddha Prakash, IAS, Fax: 24601236
Addl. CommissionerSri N. A. Ajay Rao
Jt. CommissionerSri. S. Y. Qureshi qureshijc@gmail.com8712659000
Jt. CommissionerSri. K. A. B. Shastry ashqrs.excise@gmail.com8712659601
Jt. CommissionerSri. R. Suresh Rathod jcdistilleries@gmail.com8712659602
Telangana Excise Academy
DirectorSri N. A. Ajay Rao​8712657999
Jt. DirectorSri C. V. Shashidhar Reddy

Skip to content