Sign In

The Transport Department functions under the provisions of section 213 of the Motor Vehicle Act, 1988. The Transport Department is primarily established for enforcement of the provisions of the Motor Vehicle Act, 1988, Andhra Pradesh Motor Vehicles Taxation Act, 1963 and the rules framed there under. The major functions of the Transport Department are the Enforcement of the Motor Vehicles Act and Rules, Collection of taxes and fees and issuance of Driving Licenses and Certificate of Fitness to Transport Vehicles; R​egistration of Motor Vehicles and granting regular and temporary permits to vehicles etc.


For more information about Department Profile,  HODs and Organization Chart go through the tabs below.​

Spl. Chief Secretary Sri Sunil Sharma, IAS
Spl. Secretary Smt. B. Vijendra, IAS 040-23450013, 23450013

The Transport Department stands fully committed to fully computerized citizen friendly services. This has been made possible by an extensive network of computers linking all the RTO and Unit Offices spread across the state. The department stands fully committed to the Citizens Charter and strives to achieve the deadlines for services set by the charter. We continue to ensure that the department is constantly refined in the administration of its processes and procedures to reduce time delays and achieve the stated mission of being a responsive and transparent department.

Some of the initiatives that have effected sweeping changes are the any service any counter, adherence of the operations to the citizens charter schedules; simplification of the procedures; enabling online slot booking for scheduling a driving test; a user friendly website with all the information needed for any novice including all the web-fill able forms; computerized test for learner's license and online booking for services in advance are some of the initiatives that have made the department not only responsive but also provide services in a transparent manner. The department maintains a central database and provides services to the police and other departments upon request.

Each office is equipped with an efficient help desk to answer all the queries of customers and the relevant forms. Most offices are equipped with the token system where disposals at the counters are done in an efficient manner. To make services reliable and less time consuming, the department has introduced the system of despatch of all statutory documents by speed post. Waiting the whole day at the transport office is now a thing of the past!



The Hon'ble Transport Minister

Sri Nageswara Rao
Smt. Vasantha Lakshmi


Organizations and Contacts

Note: As per the AP Reorganization Act, 2014, certain institutions serve both the States of Telangana​ and Andhra Pradesh till they are bifurcated. The below listed organizations and institutions should be seen in that light.​


​ ​ ​ ​ ​​
Spl. Chief Secretary

Sri Sunil Sharma, IAS

040-23450013, 23450013
Fax: 23454055
Spl. Secretary Smt. B. Vijendra, IAS 040-23450013, 23450013

Transport Commissioner

Transport Commissioner
Sri M.R.M. Rao, IAS
Fax: 23321282
Jt. Transport Commissioner & Secretary Sri J. Pandurang Naik
040-23321279, 27601111,
9848045360, Fax: 23321279
Jt. Transport Commissioner Sri C. Ramesh
040-23321278, 23224567,
9848045449, Fax: 23321278
Dy. Transport Commissioner (Enf.) Smt. Mamata Prasad
040-23321270, 23301539,
9866444627, Fax: 23321263

State Road Transport Corpn.

Managing Director Sri V.C. Sajjanar, IPS
040-27601313, 040-23450609
Fax: 27601313
Director (V&S) Sri K.V.V. Gopal Rao, IPS
Fax: 27610073
Jt. MD & Exe. Director (O,MIS & AM) Sri G.V. Ramana Rao
040-27615587, 040-27635827
Fax: 27600725
Financial Advisor C. A. O. Sri N. Bhuvaneshwar Prasad​​
040-27615327, 040-24201174
Fax: 27615327