The agriculture department is headed by Commissioner & Director of Agriculture. At the state Head quarter Commissioner & Director of Agriculture is assisted by technical and non-technical staff. Technical staff consists of 2 Additional Directors of Agriculture, 3 Joint Directors of Agriculture, 5 Deputy Directors of Agriculture, 8 Assistant Directors of Agriculture, 17 Agriculture officers and 189 Non-technical staff. HoD will control & direct all the district level staff.

Organizational Setup

The organizational setup of the department can be grouped under three major sections viz., Administrative Offices, and Service Centres and Staff Structure (technical).

Following Administrative Offices are situated in various parts of the state.

  • Commissionerate of Agriculture:                               Hyderabad
  • Office of Joint Directors of Agriculture (9):               Each Dist. Hqrs
  • Office of the Asst. Director of Agriculture (102):     Each Agril. Divisional Hqrs


  • State Agril. Management and Extension Training Institute: Hyderabad
  • Office of MandalAgril. Officer (444): Each MandalH.Qrs.
  • Regional Soil Testing Labs (1): Rajendranagar.
  • Single Window Diagnostic Facility for seed (8 districts): Khammam, Nizamabad, Medak,  Mahabubnagar, Nalgonda, Warangal, Karimnagar and Adilabad.
  • Single Window Diagnostic Facility for fertilizers (6 districts): Khammam, Nizamabad, Medak,  Mahabubnagar, Nalgonda,Karimnagar and Adilabad.
  • Mobile Soil Testing Labs (1): Hyderabad.
  • Soil Testing Labs in Agril Market Committees: (28).
  • Pesticides Testing Labs (2): Rajendranagar, Warangal.
  • Bio pesticides Testing Lab: Hyderabad.
  • Biological Control Labs (9) Nos.: Rajendranagar (R.R. Dist), Mahabubnagar, Medak, Nizamabad, Khammam, Nalgonda, Warangal, Karimnagar and Adilabad.
  • Bacterial Culture Production Lab. (1): Rajendranagar.
  • DNA Fingerprinting and Transgenic Crops Monitoring Laboratory, SAMETI, Hyderabad

The Department of Agriculture has following categories and strength of staff in Telangana

S. No.CategoryNo. Of Posts
1.Commissioner and Director Of Agriculture1
2.Additional Directors Of Agriculture 2
3. Joint Directors Of Agriculture12
4.Project Director (JDA Cadre) ATMA9
5.Deputy Directors Of Agriculture33
6.Dy. Project Director (DDA Cadre) ATMA18
7.Statisticians (Deputy Directors)1
8.Executive Engineers (Agri)1
9.Asst. Directors Of Agriculture202
10.Asst. Statisticians8
11.Deputy Executive Engineers (Agri)1
12.Chief Accounts Officer
13.Accounts Officer1
14.Junior Accounts Officer14
15.Administrative Officers11
16.Agriculture Officers878
17.Agriculture Extension Officers1112
18.Other Staff Members1457



S.No.Post / CadreSanctioned Post
Skip to content