Sign In


Kalvakuntla Chandrashekar Rao, popularly known as KCR, was born in Chintamadaka, Medak Dist, Telangana, India to Sri Raghava Rao and Smt. Venkatamma on February 17, 1954 . After leading the Telangana movement to its desired end, he became the first Chief Minister of the State. He is also the founder President of Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) which was in the forefront of the movement for Statehood to Telangana. He has been a Member of the Legislative Assembly (MLA) for multiple terms from different constituencies. He was also a Member of Parliament and has also held the position of a Cabinet Minister for Labour and Employment.

He has been a Member of the Legislative Assembly (MLA) from Siddipet (1985-2004, four terms) and Gajwel (2014-18) constituencies. He is currently representing Gajwel constituency in the 2nd Telangana Legislative Assembly.

He was also a Member of Parliament from Karimnagar (2004-09) and Mahabubnagar (2009-14) and held the position of a Cabinet Minister for Labour and Employment (2004-06).

Sri Chandrashekar Rao attained a Master's degree in Telugu Literature from Arts College-Osmania University, Hyderabad.

His political journey started as a member of Youth Congress from Medak district in 1970. Shri Chandrashekar Rao joined the TDP in 1983. He was a member of AP Assembly from 1985 to 2004. He served as Minister of State in Government of Andhra Pradesh during 1987-88 and as a Cabinet Minister during 1997-99. He served as Deputy Speaker of AP Assembly during 1999-2001.

On 27 April 2001, Rao resigned from the Deputy Speaker and MLA positions. He also quit TDP at the same time and launched Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) with the sole objective of realising Statehood to Telangana region.

In 2003, he was elected National Convener for New States Front. In 2004, Chandrashekar Rao became a Member of Parliament from Karimnagar Loksabha Constituency and became a Cabinet Minister at the UPA -I. He resigned from Union Cabinet in 2006 alleging the procrastination on the issue by the then Union government.

In November 2009, he undertook fast unto death demanding the creation of Telangana State. Consequently, the Union Home Minister on 9 December 2009 made a statement saying that the process of formation of Telangana has been initiated.

After a prolonged agitation, the Union government finally granted the Statehood to Telangana region and passed the Andhra Pradesh Reorganisation, Bill 2013 in both the Houses of Parliament in February 2014 effecting the creation of Telangana State.

In 2014 general elections, Telangana Rashtra Samithi emerged victorious in 63 of the 119 Assembly seats thereby securing the required number of legislators for forming the government along with highest vote share among political parties. KCR was sworn in as the first Chief Minister of Telangana.

In 2018 general elections to the Assembly, Sri K. Chandrashekar Rao-led Telangana Rashtra Samithi won 88 seats and Sri KCR was sworn in as the second Chief Minister of Telangana on 13th December 2018.

Sri K. Chandrashekar Rao has pledged to continue the welfare schemes with renewed vigour and complete the various development schemes kick-started during the previous term.

He is married to Smt. Shobha and has two children. Their son Sri K.T. Rama Rao, has been re-elected as a legislator from Sircilla in 2018 Assembly elections and the daughter, Smt. Kalvakuntla Kavitha, a ​​former Lok Sabha M.P, is an MLC from Nizamabad Local Authorities constituency.